Latest News


First ever career win for Jack Butler as he takes the $5000 to win Leindecker Race Engines Summer Sportsman Classic 40 at Big Diamond Speedway

For Immediate Release

Big Diamond PR 8/05/18

Track Promoter – Jake Smulley

Track website –


Jack Butler has paid his dues the past few years running at Big Diamond for a year and then at Grandview for the past two seasons. The young driver out of Phillipsburg, NJ has come close to victory on a few occasions only to have circumstances take it away from him. This Sunday at Big Diamond Speedway it all came together for the personable driver as he took career win number one in the USS Achey Sportsman division.

Driving the family owned #5 Sportsman under the tutelage of his father Gary Butler, the young Butler drove to a convincing victory in the first ever Leindecker Racing Engines Sportsman Summer Classic 40. The race was special to Butler not only for the $5000 first place prize but knowing that his engine builder Leindecker Race Engines was the sponsor of the race.

The race originally scheduled to run on Friday night was rescheduled to Sunday afternoon due to the weather got underway under the bright sunshine as Michael Burrows grabbed the lead from his pole starting spot but a quick caution after lap one had been completed slowed the pace. Under the caution, points leader and multi-time winner Alex Yankowski pulled off with what proved to be rear end issues underneath #84 ending his day.

On the restart Burrows once again leads the way. Veteran Craig Whitmoyer made some early moves and vaulted his #99 to second on lap four. Burrows and Whitmoyer waged an intense battle for the lead with both drivers taking turns leading the way as the raced side by side. While the two leaders battled the #80 of Doug Hendricks was coming up fast as was Butler.

A caution flag on lap 19 brought the field back together and on the restart, it was once again Burrows with the advantage with Butler who had moved to second right before the caution now challenging for the lead. Lap 25 proved to the turning point for Burrows as he slid his car up high in turn two allowing Butler to drive underneath for the lead.

Butler starts to stretch out his lead over the field as Hendricks gets moves into second on lap 29. The veteran Hendricks starts to close in on Butler hoping that the young driver will make a mistake. But not on this afternoon as Butler hits his mark each and every lap over the final 10 laps to take not only his first ever career victory. Whitmoyer after racing for lead early in the event had faded back to the bottom of the top five rebounded to take second from Hendricks on the last lap. Hendricks finished third with Ray Woodall Jr fourth. Kyle Kania is only his first ever visit to the speedway ended up a solid fifth.

The Savage 61 Road Runners were also in action on Sunday and when checkered flag flew it was Terry Kramer taking the win. Points leader Mike Reichert grabbed the early lead and looked to have this one in hand until disaster struck for the leader as Cory Lindenmuth spun in back of the field and Reichert with nowhere to go hits the disabled car of Lindenmuth as it slides down the track ripping the rear wheel off of the #63 ending his winning run. Terry Kramer inherits the lead after Reichert’s mishap and goes on to lead the remainder of the way to take the win. Jim Kost, Fred Everly, Kris Ney and Shawn Mulhall complete the top five finishers.

In the No Sweat Service Group Street Stock, Jason Geesaman returned to take the big win. Kody Sites was the early leader with Geesaman on the charge. Geesaman was able to get by Sites for the lead on lap three to take command. On the same lap, Sites was forced to sidelines with mechanical issues. Restarts on both lap four and lap five proved to be no problem for Geesamen who went on to take the win over Chris Derr, Chris Heller, Mike Radocha Jr and Kyle Saylor.

Race Results 8/5/18

Leindecker Race Engines Sportsman Summer Classic 40 lap feature went to Jack Butler followed by Craig Whitmoyer, Doug Hendricks, Ray Woodall Jr., Kyle Kania, Michael Burrows, Cale Ross, Kyle Lilick, Tim Fitzpatrick, Parker Guldin, Dean Bachman, Kevin Brady and Glenn Rowan. Did not finish were Nate Klinger, Mike Lisowski, Brad Brightbill, Billy Osmun, Wayne Witmer, Ryan Lilick, Kyle Reber, Ray Woodall Sr., Alex Yankowski, Ed Mrochko and Shawn Light.

The sportsman heat races were won by Wayne Witmer, Jack Butler and Kyle Kania. The consolation was won by Ray Woodall Jr.

Did not qualify were Matt Clay, Lex Shive, Mike Schneck, Jeremy Hertzog, Chris Hertzog, Blake Reber, Daryl Dissinger and Brandon Auman.

Savage 61 Dodge Road Runner division was won by Terry Kramer followed by Jim Kost, Fred Everly, Kris Ney and Shawn Mulhall. Did not finish were Mike Reichert, Cory Lindenmuth, Matt Ney and Shon Elk.

The road runner heat was won by Kris Ney.

The No Sweat Service Group Street Stock division was won by Jasen Geesaman followed by Chris Derr, Chris Heller, Mike Radocha Jr., Kyle Saylor, Joey Brennan, Mike Radocha Sr., Dean Hine, Eric Tripp and Jesse Krasnitsky. Did not finish were Kody Sites. Did not start was Jeff Haag.

The street stock heats were won by Jasen Geesaman and Kody Sites.

Copyright © 2018-2022 Big Diamond Speedway. All Rights Reserved. Designed & Maintained by Snyder Web Design.