Latest News

Super DIRTCar Series returns to Big Diamond Speedway on Tuesday July 12th  

For Immediate Release   

Big Diamond PR 7/09/22  

Track Promoters – Jake and Jasmine Smulley  

Track Website –  

The last time the cars and stars of the Super DIRTCar Series visited Big Diamond Speedway was over a decade ago, 2009 to be exact. On that night, it was a track regular that stole the show as “The Diamond Cutter” Duane Howard drove to victory aboard the Chad Sinon No.  4. Tuesday’s race will be the fourth time the SDS has made the trek to Schuylkill County. Previous winners include the Howard along with legendary drivers Brett “The Jet” Hearn and “AJ Slideways” Alan Johnson.  

Tuesday’s race will be 75-laps in distance and pay $7,500 to the winner. Former Big Diamond Coalcracker winner Matt Sheppard is the current SDS points leader with a four-point advantage over Max McLaughlin. Matt Williamson who has struggled in the past couple of series races led the points early on and will be looking to get back on track at the “Anthracite Assault”.  

Other series regulars who will be attending the show Tuesday night will Jimmy Phelps, Anthony Perrego, Marc Johnson, Billy Decker, Jack Lehner, Peter Britten, Tim Sears Jr and other. For some of the series regulars, this will be their maiden voyage to Big Diamond.  

There are two drivers who are platinum series regulars on the SDS that are quite familiar with Big Diamond Speedway. Mike Gular and Alex Yankowski come into Tuesday’s series race with plenty of experience and familiarity at Big Diamond. Both drivers have multiple wins with Gular having won a track championship and Yankowski is the defending winner of the Jack Rich, Inc. Coalcracker 72. Visting the many tracks the series goes to for the first time throughout the year, both drivers are excited to return to the familiarity of Big Diamond Speedway.  

Expected to compete but not confirmed at Big Diamond on Tuesday night is another former Big Diamond winner Stewart Friesen. Friesen will be fresh off racing his NASCAR truck at Mid-Ohio and looking to his SDS win total.  

Big Diamond Speedway will be well represented with regulars and former regulars looking to steal the win and the big check away from the tour regulars. Drivers expected to compete on Tuesday include Billy Pauch Jr, Brett Kressley, Louden Reimert, Ryan Watt, Jeff Strunk & Jared Umbenhauer. Former track champion and winner of the SDS race earlier this season at Bridgeport Ryan Godown has indicated that he will be in attendance along with the “Sensational One” Jimmy Horton. This season’s Money in the Mountains winner Ryan Krachun has confirmed that he will be making the trip on Tuesday.  

Also, on the schedule for Tuesday night will be full points events for the USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman and the Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunners. Tuesday’s Crate 602 Sportsman feature will pay $1,000 to the winner. Three-time 2022 Crate winner Brandon Edgar and two-time winner Danny Buccafusca are waging a battle to become the 2022 USS Achey Crate 602 champion with Logan Watt lurking not to far behind waiting for either one to stumble. These three drivers have set the tone so far in 2022 but with the competition so close, it would not be a surprise for any driver to win the available extra cash on the line.  

If you want to see some close door to door racing, look no further than the Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunners. This division produces some of the closest action you will find anywhere, and they Roadrunners will keep you on the edge of your seats. Tuesday’s race will pay a winner’s share of $500.  

Pit and Grandstand gates will both open at 4:00 PM  

Pit admission will be $40.00  

Warmups get underway at 7:00 PM with racing starting at 7:30 PM.   

General admission on Tuesday night will be $30, Students 10-15 will be $10, Kids under 10 are free.  

** Rain date for this event is Wednesday night July 13th **  

For the full schedule, rules, and speedway forms along with any other information regarding Big Diamond Speedway please visit the track website at  


Copyright © 2018-2022 Big Diamond Speedway. All Rights Reserved. Designed & Maintained by Snyder Web Design.