Latest News

Sheppard cruises to Super DIRTCar Series win at Big Diamond, Kevin Olenick wins Crates, Mike Reichert takes Roadrunner victory


July 14, 2022 


Track Promoters – Jake and Jasmine Smulley 


Track –   


 It was a sweeping victory for Matt Sheppard. Sheppard was fast time in time trial group, won his heat race and dominated the 75-lap “Anthracite Assault” for his second win of the year on the traveling series which returned to Big Diamond Speedway for the first time since 2009. Kevin Olenick took his first checkered flag of the season in winning the USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman feature with Mike Reichert extending his points lead in winning the Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunners.


Sheppard is no stranger to having won major races at Big Diamond Speedway having won the Coalcracker 72 in 2014 and also a former Anthracite Assault winner in 2019. So, it wasn’t surprising to see the Savannah, NJ driver taking the big trophy at the end of the night.


New Jersey drivers Ryan Godown and Matt Stangle led the SDS modifieds to the green flag with Godown exerting himself and taking the lead. Third place starting Sheppard wasted no time getting by Stangle for second and setting his sights on Godown. Yellow was out on lap six as Max McLaughlin stopped with front end damage after hitting the frontstretch wall. Godown led the way on the lap ten restart, but Sheppard made his move going into turns one and two on the high side as he pulled even with Godown. Coming off the fourth turn to score lap eleven and Sheppard was your new leader with Stewart Friesen now in third.


While Sheppard was pulling away, it was Godown and Friesen putting on the show for fans as they battled for second. Godown held his ground until lap 21 as Friesen worked his way underneath to take over the runner-up spot. Meanwhile Sheppard was stretching his lead until a lap 28 yellow for Jeff Strunk. After the restart with clean racetrack in front of him, Sheppard was able to put some distance between himself and second place runner Friesen.


Sheppard held Friesen at bay on a lap 44 restart after Ryan Krachun has slowed and continued to distance himself from the field. As the leader came up to lap the tail end of the field, Friesen started to close in on the leader Sheppard. Cars were running the same line as the leader Sheppard causing him to slow his pace as Friesen was now on Sheppard’s back bumper. Friesen tried the outside, but the inside line was dominant late in the race not allowing Friesen to get the grip he needed to pass leader Sheppard.


Friesen gave it all he had to take the lead but to no avail as Sheppard was able to hold off Friesen to win the 2022 “Anthracite Assault” over Friesen. Godown held on for third with Alex Yankowski fourth and Adam Pierson ending up in fifth.


The USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman were also on the card for the night with Keven Olenick taking the win. Olenick starting third, wasted little time taking the lead as lap one was scored. The only caution of the race would happen on lap seven. Back to racing and points leader Brandon Edgar was now in second place. Olenick was not to be denied on this night as he was able to keep Edgar behind him to win his first ever Crate 602 feature. Edgar settled for second over Danny Buccafusca, Matt Yoder and Talan Carter.


In the Red White and Blue Roadrunner 20-lap feature it was points leader Mike Reichert taking the lead on lap three from Jim Kost from his fifth starting spot. Reichert would continue to lead the remainder of the race but it was not easy as he had to hold off multiple time winner Alex Schoffstall to take the win. Schoffstall finished second with Kost, Chuck Fayash and Jarod Bassininsky the top five.


Full results from July 13th, 2022 – Anthracite Assault


Super DIRTCar Series Modifieds: 1. Matt Sheppard 2. Stewart Friesen 3. Ryan Godown 4. Alex Yankowski 5. Adam Pierson 6. Louden Reimert 7. Matt Stangle 8. Brandon Grosso 9 Mat Williamson 10. Anthony Perrego 11. Marc Johnson 12. Mike Gular 13. Jack Lehner 14. Tim Sears Jr 15. Jimmy Phelps 16. Peter Britten 17. Darren Smith 18. Ryan Watt 19. Jared Umbenhauer 20. Tanner VanDohren 21. Ryan Krachun 22. Brett Kressley 23. Jeff Strunk 24. CG Morey 25. Kevin Root 26. Billy Decker 27. Max McLaughlin


SDS Provisionals: Billy Decker, CG Morey & Kevin Root


SDS Modified Heat Winners: Peter Britten, Mat Williamson, Stewart Friesen & Matt Sheppard


Last Chance Qualifier Winner: Jared Umbenhauer


Did Not Qualify: JF Corriveau, Marcus Dinkins, Paul St. Sauveur, Sammy Martz, Mike Mahaney, Michael Trautschold, Jimmy Horton,


USS Achey, Inc. Crate 602 Sportsman: 1. Kevin Olenick 2. Brandon Edgar 3. Danny Buccafusca 4. Matt Yoder 5. Talan Carter 6. Kyle Kania 7. Jordan Henn 8. Logan Watt 9. Mike Schneck Jr 10. John McGeoy 11. Brandon Firestone 12. Mia Guy 13. Kaitlyn Bailey 14. Zack Cox 15. Tim Vidal


Crate Sportsman 602 Heat Winners: Talan Carter & Jordan Henn


Crate 602 Penske Shocks Gift Certificate Winners: Kevin Olenick ($100), Brandon Edgar ($75) & Danny Buccafusca ($50) 


Crate Sportsman Points: 1. Brandon Edgar 1408 2. Danny Buccafusca 1264 3. Logan Watt 1124 4. Talan Carter 1013 5. Kevin Olenick 986 6. Kyle Kania 974 7. Matt Yoder 946 8. Mike Schneck Jr 749 9. Daryl Dissinger 615 10. James Costlow 595


Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunners: 1. Mike Reichert 2. Alex Schoffstall 3. Jim Kost 4. Chuck Fayash 5. Jarod Bassininsky 6. Damion Dusheck 7. Tod Roth Jr 8. Austin Schultz 9. Tonya Lance 10. CJ Ferguson 11. Dave Schultz DNS: Joe Bassininsky


Roadrunner Heat Winners: Alex Schoffstall & CJ Ferguson


Roadrunner Points: 1. Mike Reichert 1945 2. Alex Schoffstall 1732 3. Chuck Fayash 1343 4. Jim Kost 1267 5. Andrew Fayash III 1261



Copyright © 2018-2022 Big Diamond Speedway. All Rights Reserved. Designed & Maintained by Snyder Web Design.