Latest News

Kressley breaks the ice at Big Diamond, wins $4,000 to win Mod feature

For Immediate Release

Big Diamond PR 5/13/23

Track Promoters – Jake and Jasmine Smulley

Track Website –

Everyone knew it was only a matter of time before Brett Kressley would be standing in Red White and Blue Autos victory lane. Kressley has shown speed every week and has persevered through motor issues to finally get the Kressley Truck Sales, Northern Valley Erectors No. 19K to the winner’s circle in the 30-lap Quandel Concrete Modifieds feature event. Kevin Olenick who had contemplated leaving before the night’s races began due to not feeling well is probably glad, he stayed holding off Brandon Edgar for the USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman win. Brennan Chapman held off Jax Yohn to win his second Big Creek Concrete Crate Rookie race and in the Red White and Blue Roadrunner division, it was Alex Schoffstall returning to victory lane winning his third feature of the year.

It was Wayne Witmer and Kevin Beach Jr bringing the 24-car Quandel Concrete Modified field down to the green flag with Witmer grabbing the top spot. The pace was slowed on lap three when Craig Von Dohren went around in turn two. Back to racing and Witmer continued to lead with Mike Lisowski in tow, Lisowski made his move for the lead the next lap going into turn one and coming out of the turn it was Lisowksi the new leader only to have Ken Eckert Jr slow to bring out the yellow before the lap could be clicked off. Witmer was put back to the lead over Lisowski, Rick Laubach, Kevin Beach Jr and Ryan Watt. Racing resumes with Witmer still in front but now Lisowski is all over him for the lead. Lisowski is finally able to make the move past Witmer for the lead as the field completes lap nine with Laubach and Watt also getting by Witmer.

Lisowski continues to lead the way with Laubach giving chase to the the No. 15L trying to take away the top spot. Laubach was just moving in on the leader Lisowski when the yellow was put out on lap 13 for Timmy Buckwalter who clipped the yuke tire in turn four and shot up the track with a broken front end. While everyone was watching the battle up front, eleventh place starter Brett Kressley was quietly working his way towards the front and was now sitting in fourth. The restart saw Laubach able to out drag Lisowski going into turn one to take the lead with Watt and Kressley also getting by Lisowski who seemed to be having issues. Those issues proved to be true as Lisowski slowed to a stop on the backstretch bringing out the final yellow of the race on lap 16.

Laubach jumped out to the lead on the restart, with Watt and Kressley going at it for second, those two continued to battle with Kressley finally working the inside to make the pass on lap 18 for the runner-up spot. Laubach had a sizable advantage over Kressley as the field crossed the line with ten laps remaining. Kressley was slowly reeling in the leader Laubach and with six laps to go started to use the outside lane to get around the No. 20. Kressley was hungry for a win and kept working the high side. As the two leaders flashed across the line to complete lap 24, they were dead even for the lead. Going into turn one, Kressley kept his car out on the cushion and was able to complete the pass for the lead. Once in front, it was all Kressley as he continued to put some distance between himself and Laubach. Watt and Howard were in a battle for third, but this race belonged to Kressley as he took the checkered flag to win the big $4,000 first place prize. Laubach capped off his strong run with a second-place finish with Watt, Howard and Jeff Strunk completing the top five.

“They love me,” said a very enthusiastic Kressley speaking with Barry Angstadt in victory lane following his big win and the crowd reaction. “Jake (track promoter Jake Smulley) did a helluva job with the track tonight. Troy back at the shop gets this thing going and it’s a rocket. We had a tough beginning of the year but this is where this car should be, it is fast. After halfway, this car just shined, and it locked into the track, and we just drove it.”

In the 20-lap USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman feature, it was Marty Shappell leading lap one from his pole starting spot. A caution on lap 2 saw Daryl Dissinger take the lead on the restart with sixth place starter Kevin Olenick already up to second. By lap five it was a four-way fight for the top spot between Dissinger, Olenick, Mike Schneck and Brandon Edgar. Another yellow flag slowed the action and, on the restart, it was Olenick taking over the top spot with Edgar now getting to second. Edgar followed right in Olenick’s tire tracks, unable to make a move for the lead. With five to go, Edgar started to pressure Olenick, getting his nose underneath the leader. Edgar tried everything he could to get by Olenick and was almost side by side with the leader on the last lap. The two drivers made slight contact, but Olenick held his own to take his second career Crate 602 victory. Edgar finished second followed by Mike Schneck, Jordan Henn and Mike Loney.

The Big Creek Concrete Crate 602 Rookie feature saw Brennan Chapman take the lead on lap one and hold off a determined Jax Yohn to win his second rookie feature in a caution filled race. Danica Getz, Alex Bartorillo and Brady Shea completed the top five.

Everything returned to normal in the Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunner as Alex Schoffstall won his third feature of the season as he took the lead away from last week’s winner Chuck Fayash on a lap 11 restart and walked away from the field for the win. Kris Ney, TJ Fitzpatrick, Jesse Krasnitsky and CJ Ferguson were in the top five.

Next up at Big Diamond Speedway on Friday night May 19th is the invasion of the United Racing Club Sprint Cars along with the Modifieds, Crate 602 Sportsman, Rookie Crate 602 Sportsman and Roadrunners.

Jonathan Trumbo was the winner of the 100-lap Bone Stock Enduro race.

Full Results from Friday, May 12:

Quandel Concrete Modifieds: 1. Brett Kressley 2. Brandon Edgar 3. Ryan Watt 4. Duane Howard 5. Jeff Strunk 6. Louden Reimert 7. Craig Von Dohren 8. Nick Rochinski 9. Mike Gular 10. Bobby Trapper Jr. 11. Wayne Witmer 12. Kevin Beach Jr 13. Bob Trapper Sr 14. Aleia Geisler 15. Dave Dissinger 16. Shawn Light 17. Corey Renninger 18. Doug Smith Jr 19. Shawn Fitzpatrick 20. Mike Lisowski 21. Timmy Buckwalter 22. Tim Fitzpatrick 23. Heath Metzger 24. Ken Eckert Jr

Did not qualify: Scott Albert, Bryan Rhoads, Hunter Metzger, Dave Shirk

Modified Heat Winners: Wayne Witmer, Kevin Beach Jr & Mike Lisowski

Modified Consi Winner: Ken Eckert Jr

Penske Shock Certificate Winners: Brett Kressley ($100), Rick Laubach ($75) & Ryan Watt ($50)

USS Achey Crate 602 Sportsman: 1. Kevin Olenick 2. Brandon Edgar 3. Mike Schneck Jr 4. Jordan Henn 5. Mike Loney 6. Logan Watt 7. Talan Carter 8. Daryl Dissinger 9. John McGeoy 10. Brandon Firestine 11. Matt Yoder 12. Shon Elk 13. Mia Guy 14. Glenn Rowan 15. Marty Shappell 16. Chad Putalavage 17. Nick Desantis 18. Xavier Sprague 19. Matt Martino 20. Danny Buccafusca 21. Dirk Rimrott

Crate 602 Heat Winners: Matt Martino, Kevin Olenick & Daryl Dissinger

Penske Shock Certificate Winners: Kevin Olenick ($100), Brandon Edgar ($75) & Mike Schneck Jr ($50)

Big Creek Concrete Crate Rookies: 1. Brennan Chapman 2. Jax Yohn 3. Danica Getz 4. Alex Bartorillo 5. Brady Shea 6. Brian Rehbein 7. McKenzie Smith 8. Bryce Bashore

Red White and Blue Autos Roadrunners: 1. Alex Schoffstall 2. Kris Ney 3. TJ Fitzpatrick 4. Jesse Krasnitsky 5. Joey Brennan 6. Jim Kost 7. CJ Ferguson 8. Chuck Fayash 9. Dave Schultz III 10. Blaine Fritz

Roadrunner Heat Winner: Joey Brennan


Copyright © 2018-2023 Big Diamond Speedway. All Rights Reserved. Designed & Maintained by Snyder Web Design.